Enabled: Only players that you add will be able to join. Use the whitelist commands.
Permissive (recommended): Anyone can join while you (the server owner) are online and get automatically whitelisted. As soon as you log off only players who you have manually added to the whitelist or have joined prior can join your server.
Disabled: Anyone can join the server at any time.